German Shepherds Forum banner

Heelwork Critique?

5K views 38 replies 12 participants last post by  DJEtzel 
#1 ·
So I'd like to get back into the swing of Heelwork with Patton. We took a little break to focus on other things (like dock diving and disc) but since the seasons are changing, I'd like to improve our heelwork finally.

I took this video on the fly last night. Wasn't planning a session, but he was pretty interested in doing something, so I put some treats in my pocket and hit record. Best session I've gotten out of him in a while, from my point of view!? I've never trained a formal heel on a dog before, so I'm a total newb when it comes to this.

Any help would be great. What to change/add/subtract.

#2 ·
I'm not being critical, but just something to think about and because its something I'm trying to be aware of. The little breaks in concentration, like where he drops food. I want to try and have a clear beginning and end keeping the intensity up till I clearly release and leave the position. Does that make sense?

#3 ·
I totally know what you mean and definitely agree! It's one thing that I do really consistently in every facet of our training except for heelwork. I'm not sure why! But I was recently thinking about how I needed to be making that clear. Perfect suggestion, thanks!

#5 ·
Hey DJ, something else thats not really a criticism, just something I keep in mind. I know you just turned on the camera, spur of the moment, but I don't like doing any heeling inside like that. Nothing beyond attention work. As soon as you're going to move, I want it outside, in drive. I'd rather have forging then lagging.

#7 ·
I agree with getting outside, longer strides will show the dog better. Adding distractions besides the bones/toys on the floor may be a challenge for a younger dog.
I couldn't hear many of the verbal communication over the music, so don't know if he was offering or doing what he was commanded.