Exposed to kennel cough - now lethargic - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2008, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Exposed to kennel cough - now lethargic

I'm a dog trainer & my 2 year old male is exposed to many dogs in doggie day care as well as with some clients. One of the day care dogs came down with kennel cough ( they're all supposed to be vaccinated!) last week.

Today, Zack is VERY lethargic & insists on staying outside in the 100 degree weather. This is very unlike him. I'm wondering if he might have a touch of kennel cough? He isn't coughing, but acts like he has the flu. I read that even innoculated dogs can get a mild case - but is coughing mandatory for a diagnosis?
Advertisement

Old 08-25-2008, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Default Re: Exposed to kennel cough - now lethargic

That dog could very well have been vaccinated and still have kennel cough. I'm sure you know there are many strains of kennel cough, but the vax only covers a few of them.

Yes, your dog could be in the beginning stages of this. If your dog is as under the weather as you say, I would get him in out of that kind of heat whether he likes it or not and take his temperature. If it's elevated, I would be calling the vet first thing in the morning and if he starts coughing, I would for sure be calling in the morning.
Old 08-25-2008, 05:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elite Member

I agree with Elaine. Kennelcough is a virus, just like our influenza. The vaccination is based on one or two strains, but there is more then 12 strains known to cause kennelcough.