German Shepherds Forum banner

Rectal bleeding in gsd

8K views 22 replies 11 participants last post by  SkippyShadowCat 
#1 ·
My in laws have a 5 yr old GSD. He is 90lbs, unaltered and unkept. They called me this morning to ask my advice because I am a vet tech but I'm not sure what to do because the dog is aggressive to anyone including them so that makes it hard for me to take him to work and test him for anything plus they cant afford anything. But they said he started pooping straight water 2 days ago that has turned into dripping blood. And is straining to poop. He's eating like nothing is wrong with no vomiting. He has a history of cow pie stool, has never had a formed stool. He eats kal kan. He isn't well cared for and stays outside. I was thinking possible blockage. Prostate problem. Epi? I'm not sure where to start with an aggressive dog. Any advice? I know he needs to go to the vet but it is no option for them and I can only afford so much at this time to help

#3 · (Edited)
Sadly, It could be a lot of things. If you can't get him to vet, you could try panacur for 3-4 days along with Tylan for 10 days. Then in 3 weeks do another round of panacur. That's on the hope that it is something "simple" like giardia.
Edited to add: can they try chicken and rice for a few days to calm his stomach. If not, maybe try something like Purina pro plan sensitive skin and stomach.

#4 ·
If there's concern about a blockage I'd stop feeding until he can be seen by a vet.

Without the ability to pay for his care or transport him, have y'all considered contacting a local GSD or dog rescue for help? Sometimes they will help families with vet bills, etc. Sounds like he needs to get to a vet pretty quick.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

#7 ·