Fostering a SICK GSD - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2013, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Fostering a SICK GSD

Hi, I'm new here. I'm also new to the GSD breed. I need advice. I found a GSD at my local humane society, and wanted to adopt him. They wouldn't let me adopt him, but offered to let me foster him as he had an ear infection, and he wouldn't be available for adoption until this was cleared up. On top of the ear infection (outer ear), he is SIGNIFICANTLY under weight. They estimate his age to be 3 years old. Well, he only weighs 50 pounds! They said he was healthy as far as they knew, that he just needed to gain weight. We fostered him for two week, took him back to be assessed and he had not gained any weight. I knew he wouldn't have, because although he eats (scarfs it down), he has diarrhea several times a day. A lot of it at a time. I Fostered him for another four days, and he ate his leash, yes his leash, so I took him in, they kept him overnight for observation. They called the next day and said he was fine and not pooping any foreign objects and was cleared to come home with me.... If he hadn't expelled any of the leash then that meant it was still inside of him. I'm not sure they understood that. I brought him home, he has pooped bits of leash on several occasions. Anyway, I took him to a "real" vet at my own cost, and he ran blood tests, and the results came back that his liver enzymes are elevated and he has low cholesterol. He said he suspected that Brody had EPI but would need to run more tests. I called the humane society and they said they would go ahead and run the EPI test, so I took him there since I feel they should have already run all of these tests considering how emaciated he is. I'm still waiting for the results...