Armpits turning black and losing hair - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2012, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Armpits turning black and losing hair

I'm new to this so here goes. My silver sable shepherd's armpits are turning black and red. Also underneath his rear end and underneath back legs. He's light colored, kind of beige mixed with black and silver, but very light colored shepherd. Took him to the Vet and she said it's allergies and to put baby powder on them. Didn't work and they're getting worse. He licks them a lot. I feed him Blue Buffalo and always have. He's turning 6 yrs old and never had this problem before and we've always lived in this house. Sure would appreciate any ideas, or should I just take him to another Vet? Thanks,
Kyzzer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-17-2012, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Staph infection or thyroid imbalance are possible culprits. Did the vet do a skin scrape? Get with a different vet.
Never heard of using baby powder on a skin problem. Gold bond, possibly....but not baby powder!
Old 12-17-2012, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onyx'girl View Post
Staph infection or thyroid imbalance are possible culprits. Did the vet do a skin scrape? Get with a different vet.
Never heard of using baby powder on a skin problem. Gold bond, possibly....but not baby powder!

Thanks, sounded a bit strange to me, too. I have 2 other dogs totally unaffected by this.
Old 12-17-2012, 10:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Vitamin C supplement will help reduce inflammation and support the immune system. Omega oils help w/ skin and coat.
But I'd still get with another vet for some tests...what one dog has doesn't necessarily affect the others in the household.