Masticatory myopathy/myositis - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 11:46 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Masticatory myopathy/myositis

My white GSD is broken. He has sunken head disease. Actually we are thinking Masticatory myopathy. Dogs have eating muscles at their jaw (masseter) AND on the top of their head. (temporalis). He has some sort of muscle wasting disease but Masticatory myopathy makes both sets of muscles waste away to the point the dog cannot eat. He is only three years old. Treatment is massive doses of prednisone and because it is an auto immune mediated disease it is forever.

We are awaiting the 2M test results. If it comes back negative, they will be wanting to do a series of tests I frankly cannot afford. I was a vet tech for an emergency clinic and had never heard of this.

I was recommended to this forum to see if there are other people who have dealt with this disease and share their experiences.

Here's Nick
Pat4dogs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-02-2012, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Welcome Pat.

I wish you were here for happier reasons but if you're going to find some GSD help on the net....this is the best place.

Keeping you and sweet Nick in my thoughts, wish I knew more about this disorder and could help...

(((HUGS)))
Old 12-02-2012, 11:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Rescues Rule Administrator

Welcome - hope some of these threads help:

Laser therapy for masticatory myositis
Masticatory muscle myositis
Masticular Myositis
Olina has Lyme Disease and ????
Jaw Pain (long) ( 1 2)
Masticatory Myositis

Tetanus symptoms ( 1 2 3)
Old 12-02-2012, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Crowned Member

See....this site rocks, I had never heard of this diease before Pat told me about.

(tks Jean)