15 month old not in heat - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2012, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default 15 month old not in heat

My 15 month old AKC GSD has not gone into heat yet. I am not sure if I should be concerned about this or not. She is up to date on all shots and is otherwise very healthy. I am wondering when is the normal age for them to go into heat. I am new to this breed but did my homework as far as training and behavior went. Just wondering if anyone had any advice?
hsawyers_12 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-28-2012, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Usually they come into heat between 9-11 months, but some are late bloomers. I wouldn't worry about it too much. If you are not planning to breed, spaying her before the first heat will give her protection against certain types of cancers, and at 15 months of age, she's had plenty of time for proper growth. I say, count your lucky stars.
Freestep is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 01:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Member

Are you the first owner to this dog? Any chance that she was done as a ped spay?

If not, dogs can go into heat anytime between 4 months (which would be SUPER early) and as late as 18 months (which is late, but not unusual). The most frequent time for the first heat is between 9 - 12 months old.

Have you asked the breeder if their lines maybe come into heat a little later?

I would talk to the breeder, see what they say. You can also discuss with your vet, and if it were me I would wait until she was 18 months AS LONG AS she does not have any medical issues come up before then requiring a spay.

Are you planning on spaying her eventually, or is she going to remain intact?