4 Month Old Pup German Shepherd Rash - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2011, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default 4 Month Old Pup German Shepherd Rash

Hello Everyone!

How are you all doing? I hope all is well. Before reading this I must warn you... Please be aware that this is my first time fully owning a dog. He picked me to be his master/owner, which I know can bring much joy to ones life but I worry so much about him as I want the best for my little guy. It's as if I'm a new parent and every experience is completely new to me and I'm not sure what to do. So please bare with me. Here goes...

I am in need of some help... My 4 month old puppy has some type of rash on his belly (Near his family jewels) and right where his front and hind legs meet his body (armpits?)
He has these little pink/red dots/bumps around these so called "hot spots"
When he begins to scratch himself he goes to town to the point he starts whining. I try to keep him occupied with something else so he leaves it alone but its tough watching him like a hawk.

I've taken him to the vet and I was informed he might be allergic to Chicken so change it to Lamb? I thought it was fleas at first but I never seen fleas do this much damage. He recently got his first treatment for fleas and will get another in February.
What could it be and how am I able to help him out? Change his diet? Is it too hot or too cold in the house? We have hardwood and tile all over the house, no carpet just a rug here and there but we steam clean everything with hot water, no chemicals. Everything that happens to him I feel is life threatening so please help me!
I snapped a few photos of the rash if anyone is interested.

History if needed: