German Shepherds Forum banner

Service Dog?? (moved to service dogs from gen info)

1K views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  David Winners 
#1 ·
A little back story: I’m a veteran and since I got out I’ve noticed a few things but one big thing. I HATE CROWDS!!! It’s not only a hate, when I go anywhere that I know will be somewhat crowed I getting really bad anxiety and once I’m there I tend to have a little panic attack. I mean I’m not running outside screaming but I find myself constantly looking around, checking people out, looking for the closest exit, and feel trapped. I have found that when I do take my dog with me in public places I feel secure, like I have someone watching my back, that mind sound stupid because it’s a dog but I don’t know how to explain it better then like a Battle (Battle is a term we used for Battle Buddy). I have a friend with a PTSD dog and it’s got me looking onto it. He’s training his dog himself for crowd control and other things but I was wondering if anyone had any information on how one would even start to see if they qualify to have a service dog and if they do how do you get the proper certification?

#5 ·
Hey Brother,

I have some of the same issues in crowds. Mine was far worse in the first 6 months after deployment, but has since tapered off to a very manageable level. My VA Counselor helped me with some calming exercises. I know that I experience none of these symptoms when I have my dog with me. I think you may benefit greatly from having at least an emotional support dog.

If your PTSD is in your records and service connected, you can get a Service Dog. You may qualify for a donated dog as well. There are a couple of organizations doing this. I will have a look around and see what I can find. It's been a while since I read about them.

Here is something to look at too:

https://www.facebook.com/OperationWolfhound4vets

#6 ·
Hey Brother,