therapy dog - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2012, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default therapy dog

In about 6-8 more months" I'm getting shadow to be a therapy dog ! She is smart, obedient, caring and I know she can do it !

I decided this when I started training her, I seen her confidence build up especially after using the prong. As continuing to use the prong, in about a couple months she will be ready!
kelina is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-26-2012, 06:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
jae
Master Member

My trainer certifies therapy dogs and CGC. You can test both at the same time but I am pretty sure CGC is a requirement as well as the dog being at least 12 months old.

She thinks that my dog is a perfect candidate for therapy as he is comfortable with every piece of equipment she has brought out during puppy class as well as loud noises and he does not jump or over react to strangers. Is friendly to every dog and human and has never shown aggression that I or she has ever seen. One thing she noted when I was trying prongs for trainin is that if you use a prong during the test, the score must e perfect or fail. I rarely use prong but just saying. Keep working on obedience and confidence and your dog will do well!
jae is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2012, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)

I don't know about the regulations surrounding use of the prong in CGC testing but I do know that therapy dog oranizations in Canada will not permit use of a prong during visiting for fear of the elderly injuring their hands while interacting with dogs. Their skin is very fragile and many are taking anti-coagulants which make them bleed easily.

Quinn, Mar. 8/2007
Shadow, 1995-2007, always in my heart