German Shepherds Forum banner

Puppy Coloring- Sable

10K views 55 replies 15 participants last post by  k9trainersj 
#1 ·
Hello, let me first say that I am very new to this page. Any advice you guys have for me to utilize this page is appreciated.

I know people likely ask about their puppy and coloring and I just got an 11 week old Male Shepherd puppy. The mom is solid black and dad is a sable. I am wondering if any of you guys have a guess to what coloring you think he will mature to? I understand sables can be a unpredictable but thought I could see what you guys thoughts are. His pedigree all shows dogs will good elbow and hip ratings and the parents had great temperaments. Very friendly and social but also confident too.

I appreciate your input.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Very nice. Out of curiosity, is Fero in his bloodlines? Just wondering because of the white rear toes. I just placed a female pup almost identical to him. Will mature to a nice dark sable.

#13 ·
He looks like he will be dark sable. The dark stripe down the front legs and dark markings on his toes-pencil markings and with tar heals dark markings on bottom of his feet. The dark chest and very dark strip almost black under is chest and belly area I think he may be a dark sable. My boy had a pattern sable dad and bicolor mom. The. pups that were the litter were black/tan, pattern sable and dark sables. He looks like he is in the light phase now. Gorgeous pup!!!!!

#15 ·
Thank you everyone for your input and compliments. I am attaching pictures of him at about a week old and of his grandsire. Though I don't think he'll be quite that dark it shows that he has really dark in his genes. I'm excited to see how he turns out and love to hear everyone's opinions.

If anyone wants to share pictures of their Sables from puppy to adult I would love to see them.

Attachments

#16 ·