German Shepherds Forum banner

New Puppy coming soon and LOTS of questions

2K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  *Fiona 
#1 ·
Hi! Well after much thought we have decided to add a new family member to our small family. We are very excited to get our GSD puppy! She will be arriving to our home the end of July or first of August. I have lots of questions that I am hoping someone will be kind enough to give me some advice on. Please be patient, I have not had raised a large breed puppy in 20+ years (she was a GSD/Lab/Malamute) and it’s been 12 years since our Min Pin was a pup. Here goes..

Vaccinations
The breeder told me that she will be vaccinated at 5 weeks and 8 weeks. Does that seem right? I am not a necessarily pro-vaccine, but I do believe a puppy needs some of the vaccines. If that is correct, at what age would she need her next dose and with the 2 doses she is getting from the breeder, is it safe to take her out of the house when we pick her up or do we need to wait?
Also, how concerned should I be about our senior Min Pin not being fully vaccinated with the new puppy coming? She is 12 years old, has Cushing’s and had her full schedule of puppy vaccinations and after that I don’t recall where we are at with her besides getting a rabies shot in the last few years. She is an indoor dog and is even litter boxed trained. She doesn’t spend a lot of time outside anymore except our backyard or if we go camping.

Age at Pickup/Camping Plans