7 1/2 Week old GSD Questions - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2015, 12:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default 7 1/2 Week old GSD Questions

Hi, I am new to the breed, I have wanted a GSD for about 6 years, but could never devote the necessary time that a GSD requires, so I had to fight the urge. Now that I have the time, I found a good breeder and picked up Achilles last week. He is young, but training is going well. I used chopped up boiled chix for treats or chopped up boiled steak. Now that I shared some background, here is my questions.

1.) I hear that German Shepherds are one of the most loyal of all breeds, at what age will they start showing that loyalty. I ask this because he just does his own thing almost all the time. He doesn't really follow me around and is more interested in my 4 mo old terrier mix. I do play tug with him and train him about 3-4 sessions a day for about 5 min. (I know the attention span is short so I try to keep these sessions short) I just don't know what I have to do to keep him more engaged with me. Or at what age, they become the "Velcro dog" that I read about.

2.) He loves eating rocks and pebbles. I read the rock eating thread, and will begin working on the leave it command today. I was just wondering if this is normal behavior in GSD pups or do I have to read into this from a medical standpoint. It is frustrating because I take him out to eliminate and all he does is lay down and eat pebbles. I live in AZ so my whole yard is pebbles mind you, so I keep saying no, opening his mouth and making him spit them out. This can go on for hours, he just won't stop. I am hoping this isn't ruining his trust in me.

3.) What order of commands do I need to train first. A rundown of what he knows to follow. Any other tips on what to work on would be appreciated.