German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   General Puppy Stuff (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-puppy-stuff/)
-   -   New pup hasn't pooped yet!?!? (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-puppy-stuff/435337-new-pup-hasnt-pooped-yet.html)

FuzzButtMum 04-08-2014 08:32 AM

New pup hasn't pooped yet!?!?

This is my first time raising a puppy (i've previously had adult dogs).

My little guy, Finnick, came home yesterday but has yet to poop. It's been just over 24 hours. He's eaten 4 meals so far with us (3 meals per day) with no problem, he's also drinking plenty. He is urinating fine (although it takes a while in the garden for him to actually "go" because he gets distracted. Is this normal for him not to have pooped? Am I going to get one giant poop when he eventually poops? Shovel at the ready! :S

Fuzzbuttmum

dawnandjr 04-08-2014 08:38 AM

I dont think that is normal. Has there been a change in the food from what the breeder was feeding? Does he have free access to water? Are you allowing him the opportunity to freely wander about in the yard to deceide to poop? Has he been dewormed at all? If so, with what and when? Has he had a bout with diarrhea recently and his stools are just firming up?

Diesel7602 04-08-2014 09:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FuzzButtMum (Post 5342105)
This is my first time raising a puppy (i've previously had adult dogs).

My little guy, Finnick, came home yesterday but has yet to poop. It's been just over 24 hours. He's eaten 4 meals so far with us (3 meals per day) with no problem, he's also drinking plenty. He is urinating fine (although it takes a while in the garden for him to actually "go" because he gets distracted. Is this normal for him not to have pooped? Am I going to get one giant poop when he eventually poops? Shovel at the ready! :S

Fuzzbuttmum

my puppy did the same thing. It worried me. He will go. He might be nervous of his new life. =)