5 month old puppy having diarrhea often? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2013, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default 5 month old puppy having diarrhea often?

I have a German shepherd puppy named Yogi and he's 5 1/2 months now. He's been having diarrhea often on and off since I got him at 8 weeks old.

Feeding pumpkin usually clears it up within a day, but when it's bad it's really bad (like a water hose). We've been to the vet and checked his stools and nothing has come up abnormal.But he still gets diarrhea every 2 weeks or so.

I've been through literally everything and nothing seems to be in common between these bouts (food, water, excersize etc.).

For example, yesterday I left him at home in the morning for about 4 hours (I'm a university student). When I came home at lunch time he was perfectly fine; I let him out to do his business and left again for afternoon classes. My mom came home about 2 and a half hours after, and he started having bad diarrhea: having to be let out ever 10 minutes, and even going in the house because he couldn't hold it.

I can't find a cause for this since he was perfectly fine with firm stool in the morning, and didn't eat anything during the time he was left alone (he's ok with being alone).

I want to know if anyone here have any experience with something similar, I know puppies can get diarrhea but he gets it way too often... Is this something that he will likely out grow when he gets older?

Here are some pictures of him (baby and now), he's a happy puppy (even when he's having diarrhea...)

** Oversized photos removed by ADMIN. Photos may not be over 600X800**
Dovey is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-23-2013, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

ADORABLE pup.