German Shepherds Forum banner

Need Some Nutrition Information

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Castlemaid 
#1 ·
Hi guys,

I don't own a GSD but I am a student presently and I have a case study based on a hypothetical situation about a group of 6 week old GSD pups. My school book is very vague when it comes to the specifics and my googling hasn't amount to anything so I am here to ask for your help.

This is what I have so far and any information I could use to answer the other few questions would be greatly appreciated.

1. Scenario chosen:
The scenario I have chosen is “Six week old German Shepherd puppies”.
2. Discuss the specific nutritional requirements for this animal in this situation:
i. Life stage
These puppies would have just been weaned off their mother so they may require a supplement. They food the puppies are offered should be designed for puppies and reflect their nutritional requirements like more energy and protein than an adult animal.
ii. Seasonal factors affecting the animals
In winter, to help maintain body heat, the animals should be fed foods with higher fat or carbohydrate content to allow for extra energy to regulate their body temperature. This may not be necessary if inside temperatures remain warm. Extra Vitamin D will also help.
iii. Captivity factors
iv. Specific factors for the animal’s situation
v. Ensure you discuss in terms of nutrients to show your understanding
3. Discuss the feeding schedule required by this animal
i. Ensure you discuss:
a. How often the animal should be fed and in what quantities
I believe these animals should be fed three times a day in quantities that allow it to get the recommended intake of all the important nutrients, without the risk of obesity.
b. How the animal should be fed and how food is best presented