German Shepherds Forum banner

what does/did your 6 month old pup weigh?

147K views 38 replies 37 participants last post by  Grendel 
#1 ·
My pup just turned 6 months old and he seems HUGE! He almost seems a little over weight? The vet recommended feeding him twice a day as much as he wants for 15 minutes. Is this a good or bad idea? I have been doing this for a couple months. Generally we feed just taste of the wild, but lately we have been doing half TotW and half Kirkland because money is on the tight side. He is so much larger than our 55lb mutt, I would guess he weights 65 to 70 lbs. Going to get him weighed today though at vet,,, what did your 6m pup weigh? Here are some poor photos of him I quickly shot off today before taking kids to school- thoughts?

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
I am fairly certain Gladiator was about 60 lbs at 6 months - he is Working Line.

From the pictures he does not look overweight, though it is hard to really tell on a long haired dog.

I would just run your hands over him and make sure you can feel ribs without too much pressure, feel lean muscle over his shoulders and legs and see a waist from a bird's eye view when you hold down his fur.

Keep him fit and lean for his life and you can cut down the stress on the joints and improve the quality of life for your dog!

#4 ·
My pup Titan isn't quite 6 months old yet and is already 70 lbs. He's a big boy, very stocky, although lean. I do worry about his joints, but he's lean, so there's not much more I can do. I won't starve him.

#12 ·
Wolf Caesar is big my most standards, but he is a Black GSD Working Dog sort.
At six months he was 70 lbs (30 kg) Read about the RAW diet in Puppy section where there are pictures of Wolf Caesar...