German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   General Information (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-information/)
-   -   Wireless dog fence? (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-information/387442-wireless-dog-fence.html)

MidnightQueen 12-27-2013 08:19 PM

Wireless dog fence?

Need advice. I live on an L shaped property with two houses sitting on it. The rest of it has four big gardens with driveways that pass by them. I was wondering is there anyone that has had much experience with a radio fence as Zoey keeps going into my neighbours garden when I let her loose? I have no way of putting a physical fence down as we have no gate for our driveway, it's pretty wide.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

Mary Beth 12-27-2013 09:39 PM

I have no experience but 2 of my neighbors have them and work well for their dogs. Considering your situation, unless you want to fence in some part of your yard for a dog run, I would think it would be worth a try.

wdkiser 12-27-2013 09:58 PM

I live in the country and have just under 17 acres all fenced in by an invisible fence (underground wire), but should be the same concept as a wireless except for the range. I had a lab that the fence worked well for except when it would break. It would still take him a long time to figure out it was broken because he wouldn't test it. I now have a mut and a GSD now and they respect the fence and have never gotten out. This is even when they chase wild animals (rabbits, possum, raccoons, etc). Is it possible they will run through the fence? Sure. But it has served me well and would surely be better than nothing for your situation.

doggiedad 12-27-2013 10:58 PM

fence off an area for your dog. i wouldn't trust an electric fence besides
an electric doesn't keep other animals out.

MidnightQueen 12-28-2013 07:40 PM

Thank you for your comments! Might consider a physical fence yet. :)

Sent from Petguide.com Free App