Czech shepherd German shepherd? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2013, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)

Question Czech shepherd German shepherd?

Sorry I don't know if this is the right spot or not... Anyways, my husband and I are looking into getting a working line shepherd I want to do protection training, tracking etc and was looking at working line German and Czech shepherds. I was wondering what is the difference between the Czech/German shepherds. Somebody told me they are 2 different dogs. I know Czech is used for border patrol, but aren't they still considered German shepherds? I am totally new to this, but this same person told me that only Czech shepherds are dark/black sable and german shepherds can not be. And I know color is not important, but I want a black sable they are just so gorgeous Just wondering if there was any truth to that. I have been trying to look up some threads on here on the subject, but can't seem to really find anything . Any info would be greatly appreciated

Dixie-Born 06-04-12
DixieGSD is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2013, 11:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

German Shepherds are German Shepherds - Czech, West German, DDR... all working lines.

The most important thing is to do your research on each line, then find a breeder that is producing dogs that will SUIT YOUR LIFESTYLE. Be honest with yourself and your breeder in what you want and can handle.

There are some great threads on this forum that I suggest you read in the bloodline section as well as the puppy section on how to select a responsible breeder.

elisabeth_00117 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2013, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elite Member