German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   General Information (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-information/)
-   -   Adult dog food..help. (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-information/195282-adult-dog-food-help.html)

GusGus 11-28-2012 12:39 PM

Adult dog food..help.

I am new to owning a dog so I have a few questions about food.

1) So my pup (GSD) is 16 months and I wasn't sure at what age I should switch over to adult food. I've heard a lot of different opinions and I would kike to know what age is truly the best to switch.

2) I feed him iams large breed puppy food and I would like to feed him a dog food that is right for him. After reading different things on here, I had no idea there were so many options to choose from. I would like to stick with dry food or maybe a dry/wet or dry/raw mix if that exists? Oh, and I'm not wanting to buy dirt cheap food but I'm not looking to spend 200 bucks a month on food either.

3) I assume there is going to be a lot of opinions on what food to feed my dog, so if you could give me some info on it and maybe a link or some info I can research it/ purchase it.

Thank you guys so much! (:

JohnD 11-28-2012 01:30 PM

It may depend on how much he weighs....If he is bigger you may want to move over to adult food...Or even mix it with his puppy food for a while.

I went with Diamond Naturals Adult Lamb and rice...It gets good ratings and you won\'t go broke paying for it..About $37.00 for a 40lbs bag.

Kyleigh 11-28-2012 01:33 PM

Here you go:

http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum...py-food-s.html

Piper'sgrl 11-28-2012 01:34 PM

Most vets will tell you with large breeds like shepherds to keep them on lrge breed pup food until 12-14 months old. He should be switched over to adult food now. I'de like to add that even the most expensive food wont put you at $200 a month...not even from the vets

kiya 11-28-2012 01:42 PM

Quote: