2 questions - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 01:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knighted Member

Default 2 questions

do american show lines have more health problem than east and west german lines ? also, do all american show lines have the "frog leg look? tks all.
huntergreen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-14-2012, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member

I'm far from an expert, but IME they are no less healthy when they come from a reputable breeder.
They also don't all have the "frog legs." One of my 2 best friends has an ASL male and he's healthy/lacks frog legs. Most of the more well-bred GSD's I met at the shows recently (all American lines) also lacked frog legs. (:
Old 11-14-2012, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Health problems are the same...the angulation in the legs/hips has nothing to do with HD.

The frog legs thing still goes on but has gotten much much better. You'll still see a bad one once in a while at a show but its not nearly as bad as it used to be. Breeders and judges have wised up (probably due to the public). If you look up the winner of the nationals, who was also the group winner at westminster you'll see he moves very nicely and that dog is considered the best ASL dog in the country right now.
martemchik is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Showlines in my area are all closely related to frogs. They are so hard to watch.

I do believe that non american dogs have fewer health problems, but all lines can have issues. Best bet is to find a reputable breeder.
Old 11-14-2012, 05:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by huntergreen View Post