Advice for GSD PUPPY - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2010, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Advice for GSD PUPPY

Hi everyone! My name is Jackson Lieu and i'm new to this thread and I love German Shepherds! Anyways, my girlfriend and I just recently picked up a GSD puppy at 8 weeks old from a local breeder around our area in Southern California. We saw the parents before we picked up the puppy, and the puppy was the last one of the litter. Anyways, my question is that is my puppy a pure breed? That's what the seller told us, when I saw the parents they were huge along with the original black and tan coat. But the thing is our puppy (we named him Comet by the way) has all the characteristics and figures of a pure breed GSD except for the color. Comet's color is like black, grey with a little brownish over the body and a white chest. Also, will Comet's color change as he gets older? Other than that, he is really playful, energetic and his ears are starting to point already. So if anyone can help me I would really appreciate it, thank you!!!!!
Here is a picture of Comet
http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos..._5421231_n.jpg
ButterzxLieu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-11-2010, 12:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Administrator from the Great White North, eh?

Hi Jackson!!! Welcome to the Forum.

I fixed it so your pup's pic will appear in the thread.

He is just ADORABLE!!! But at first blush, I would say this is not a pure-bred GSD, as GSD's come in a lot of different colour and pattern combination, but not brindle - and this pup is definitely a brindle! His face and head also looks somewhat odd for a GSD, though I LOVE those ears trying so valiantly to stand and his mischievious expression.