German Shepherds Forum banner

New CZech Shepherd Purchase

6K views 39 replies 14 participants last post by  markbrick 
#1 ·
I have a brother who just purchased a IPO3 Czech GSD. I have owned and trained mine and have never had an issue. He is new to dogs and purchased one thinking he wouldn't need to train it. It would just be a good house companion because it had so much training. While I have some experience, I thought someone could help me with giving him advice. On a related note, while visiting with the dog the first time, it came right up and was very friendly. When the owner went into the other room, my brother said the dog kinda turned on them and started barking at them. He wasn't sure what that was about. The dog is 3 years old and just had pups 4 weeks ago. The pups were in the room and my brother thought maybe that caused the dog to change it's demeanor?

Here are his questions:

1. If a cleaning lady came over does he need to put the dog in the kennel? (Guessing the answer is always yes, is there anyway to introduce a dog to someone and then the dog will always not freak out when they just walk in?)

2. If In Laws come to town, like the question above, how long before he can trust the inlaws can walk in and out of the house freely?

3. How about babysitters? Once they are introduced, will they be good all around the house?

The breeder is bringing the dog to the house in 4 weeks after it's pups are weaned. Any input would be helpful. Knowing how dog people can be, I probably should say I always had a 6ft fence with a doggie door and and a dog pen. I never thought of these questions, because if I had a stranger coming over when I wasn't there he would be locked away in the back yard. I'm curious to know how long before you can introduce a dog to someone and then the dog doesn't consider them a threat. I also never had a dog with this much training. Is an IPO 3 dog completely safe having gone thru socialization, training, and from good bloodlines.