German Shepherd Bitch seriously out of control......Need Advice thanks - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-18-2014, 12:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default German Shepherd Bitch seriously out of control......Need Advice thanks

Hi everyone,

I am a new member in the UK. I have a gogeous GSD Bitch with serious deep seeded behavioural issue. I am her third owner and I have over 20 years experience with GSDs and I am at a point now where I have 3 options

1) Three months intensive behaviour therapy by myself if this doesnt work my vet has agreed the kindest thing would be to put my girl to sleep.

2) Rehome to German Shepherd Rescue if there is space giving them all her history that i know of.

3) My Behaviour therapy works and in three months I have a dog I can keep permanently.

4 years ago I took in Brody as her owner couldnt cope and with my experience of GSDs I thought i could cope I am her third owner. All was ok then 2 years ago my health changed drastically, after several weeks in hospital I came home and hired a dog walker. I found out that Brody had cancererous lump and it was removed successfully, to this date no signs of cancer. 14th January this year I had followup surgery and was in hospital for a week, came home and in the past 5 weeks since my surgery the behaviour in 2 dogs seriously deteriorated, suffering from seperation anxiety. I have tried everything I can think of and the behaviour was much improved until yesterday when i reintroduced all 4 dogs to one room. I came home to find diahreah all over the floor. This morning i came down to find that brody had destroyed her bed, it was a brand new bed.