German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   General Behavior (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-behavior/)
-   -   Does this dog look nervous? (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-behavior/410778-does-dog-look-nervous.html)

Msmaria 02-13-2014 06:04 PM

Does this dog look nervous?

I am new to learning dog behavior and signals. This poster posted this on youtube to show his dogs are okay around children. His dogs are trained in protection. However when my dog would lick his lips around children that are running around my trainer said he was anxious or nervous. Am I right to think this dog is giving off nervous energy? Why wouldnt a professional see this? Or am I wrong and there are other body signals showing this dog is okay and fine with whats going on Id like to know so I can assess my dogs anxiety better.

Freestep 02-13-2014 06:19 PM

It looks to me like a dog being "proofed" on the down stay, and he's in conflict, but he's doing his darnedest to obey the command under heavy distraction.

Msmaria 02-13-2014 06:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freestep (Post 5018274)
It looks to me like a dog being "proofed" on the down stay, and he's in conflict, but he's doing his darnedest to obey the command under heavy distraction.

Good to know. So not all lip licking means anxiety. It can also mean he wants to get up and play but working on controlling his stay command.

Baillif 02-13-2014 06:25 PM

Thats not necessarily a reaction to children. It could be response to the methods used to train the dog to maintain the down under distraction. We have a sport dog here that was knocked around by ecollar a year ago before he was brought back while training basic positions and he still licks lips a lot out of nervousness. Especially when put into working mode for those positions.

Anyway you are right the dog is under stress.

Castlemaid 02-13-2014 06:29 PM