German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   General Behavior (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-behavior/)
-   -   Food/toy guarding and cats (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/general-behavior/403658-food-toy-guarding-cats.html)

tches724 01-29-2014 11:35 AM

Food/toy guarding and cats

How would you modify this with cats? Should I always sit by her while she eats, and if the cats come over I feed her the treats? If that is the case, how can I be sure she won't food guard the new treats? She does it with her toys too, should I take the same approach, sit there until cats approach? I am new to this food guarding behavior and need it to stop! She is fine with humans, just not with other dogs and cats. I think it has to do with her foster home she was in (several dogs and cats). Thanks!

David Taggart 01-29-2014 01:41 PM

You have to persuade your dog that your cat is equal member of the pack. First of all, train your dog to eat in laying down position, it is good for her neck anyway for prevention of the osteosclerosis, and it also is good for training "Down" and remaning in the same position as long as required. It also would work as a break from old stereptype in order to build a new one. It is not difficult to train, your dog will eat as happily as before, normally 2-3 days - and she would be obedient just knowing what will happen next. It is better to keep your cat out of the room these three days.