Is she smarter than me? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2013, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Is she smarter than me?

Hello! I'm new to site and have a 1 year old female. We held off putting her into obedience training due to trying to plan a wedding shortly after we got her. She's always been fairly well behaved, though, and didn't think it would be a problem.

She and I officially start training this coming weekend, but I've been working with her for the past couple of weeks at home. Here's the thing: Over the weekend she tried to break out of her crate while we were gone. (And by "break out" I mean she had one of the bars completely removed and pulled away and other bars mangled.) I realize this is a form of separation anxiety and will deal with it, but the following day we had family over and she behaved like an angel! I swear she knew I was telling them what she had done and wanted to show them that Mom was exaggerating! That evening when I took her out to play and work on some training exercises, she pretty much ignored me. Naturally this was after "grandma and grandpa" and her human "siblings" (our grown children) had left.

So...is this normal? Is she displaying typical "toddler" temperament?
Dakoda's Mom is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-07-2013, 02:32 PM   #2 (permalink)