German Shepherds Forum banner

Looking for LC Breeders

1K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  mnm 
#1 ·
Hi All,

I am just beginning to get my feet wet in a search for a perfect puppy. I've owned shepherds for close to 20 years, so I'm pretty familiar with the breed and bloodlines but I'm looking for some expert advice from those who have more expertise than myself.

I currently own a 7 1/2 YO male working line (unsure which region). Best dog I've ever owned. Love him dearly. I have a 6 year old stepson and my son, who will be 3 in October. Last year, on his 2nd birthday, my son was diagnosed with a rare and aggressive form of leukemia. We spent 4 consecutive months in the hospital but my son achieved remission and completed treatment in April. Of course we still continue to go in for monthly check ups and blood work.

My little boy in the past month or so, has become completely enamored with our dog and cat. Our dog Rocky, in particular, brings him endless giggles and so much joy it just warms my heart. I am so proud of Rocky for being so good and gentle with him. However, being from working lines - even at 7 1/2 years old he's still very go, go, go and not the biggest cuddle bug. My son often really just wants to snuggle into his fur and Rocky usually just jumps up and grabs his ball. lol