German Shepherds Forum banner

How to tell if puppies are purebred?

11K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  blackshep 
#1 ·
Hello :). I'm new to this forum, I'm from Lithuania.
I'm now really starting to consider getting a german shepherd puppy in the summer. I wanted one since I was 12 years old, but we didn't have the space for one. At the moment I'm still considering, reading Puppies for Dummies and etc., thinking of supplies I'd need, if I could take few weeks of vacation when I'd get my puppy.
Also I'm starting to work 3/4 time instead of full and I will have more time available.
I know that the best option is to buy a GSD with papers, however that's not really an option for me, it is a bit too pricey. Here puppies with documents cost about 3-4 times more than without them. And for that I could buy many supplies, food and cover a few vet bills. Even though I'm not a dog expert, I think it is absolutely possible to get a great purebred puppy without papers. Of course from what I've seen online everyone understands "purebred" differently. I just want a companion, it's not for shows or anything (obviously).
Is there a resource that lists the things to look in a puppy to help decide if it's purebred or not? And e.g. things that are not so easily noticed and overlooked by an inexperienced person? Most of the answers I could find on the internet are like "well just look at his papers" or "have his DNA tested" etc.

See less See more
#3 ·
By not going to a reputable breeder in order to save money, you run the risk of getting a poor quality dog, purebred or not. A breeder that tests its dogs for physical and mental health, and stands behinds the quality of the dogs they produce is probably going to be more affordable in the long run.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

#4 ·