German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   Finding the Right Puppy (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/finding-right-puppy/)
-   -   Dog from breeder with undescended testicle (wasn't informed) (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/finding-right-puppy/420649-dog-breeder-undescended-testicle-wasnt-informed.html)

Drew Orleans 03-07-2014 11:50 AM

Dog from breeder with undescended testicle (wasn't informed)

What is proper protocol for when this occurs?

-I bought a puppy from a reputable breeder for a solid chunk of change.
-I wasn't informed of this before the puppy was shipped to me.
-It was written in medical terms on his paper that came attached to his travel crate.
-The vet informed me of it today and was pretty pissed that the breeder didn't tell me or give me some sort of discount.

I'm brand new to all of this so any input will be greatly appreciated.

Baillif 03-07-2014 11:52 AM

Id be pissed. Very very pissed

RocketDog 03-07-2014 11:52 AM

How old is the pup? They can still come down for quite awhile.

Lark 03-07-2014 11:53 AM

My dog also had an undescended testicle, and I was informed of this when I got him. I was also informed by the breeder that he would need to be neutered because of this, and when to neuter and that it would cost more. My dog was also a bit more inexpensive because of the fact that neutering would cost more. She also told me that it could descend but she wouldn't count on it.

wolfstraum 03-07-2014 11:54 AM

I always have my vet check and document testicles. A buyer should be informed, the situation discussed and given the option of whether they want a monorchid or not in my opinion....I do not believe it is ethical to sell a pup - even as a pet - without disclosing this. Often the vet can feel the second one, and it is very likely it will drop, but still should be monitored.....

Lee

Drew Orleans 03-07-2014 11:59 AM

Just over 7 weeks.