German Shepherds Forum banner

Dog from breeder with undescended testicle (wasn't informed)

9K views 33 replies 26 participants last post by  Liesje 
#1 ·
What is proper protocol for when this occurs?

-I bought a puppy from a reputable breeder for a solid chunk of change.
-I wasn't informed of this before the puppy was shipped to me.
-It was written in medical terms on his paper that came attached to his travel crate.
-The vet informed me of it today and was pretty pissed that the breeder didn't tell me or give me some sort of discount.

I'm brand new to all of this so any input will be greatly appreciated.

#4 ·
My dog also had an undescended testicle, and I was informed of this when I got him. I was also informed by the breeder that he would need to be neutered because of this, and when to neuter and that it would cost more. My dog was also a bit more inexpensive because of the fact that neutering would cost more. She also told me that it could descend but she wouldn't count on it.

#5 ·
I always have my vet check and document testicles. A buyer should be informed, the situation discussed and given the option of whether they want a monorchid or not in my opinion....I do not believe it is ethical to sell a pup - even as a pet - without disclosing this. Often the vet can feel the second one, and it is very likely it will drop, but still should be monitored.....

Lee

#13 ·