German Shepherds Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Tie out collar

19K views 17 replies 13 participants last post by  Bramble 
#1 ·
I am new to dogs so I have no idea what to look for in collars for tie outs. I was really hoping that someone could recommend a good collar or harness that will keep my GSD from hurting his neck. Also, I was thinking about getting a regular tie out line unless someone has advice on a good line to get. Thanks.

#5 ·
If you go the collar route you want an agitation collar, really big for more distribution in the neck if he pulls/lunges to prevent damage.

I've tied my boys out a few times in the front yard, largely when it's rained, the back yard is straight mud. On nice days they like to lay out in the grass and chew on some bones. I've tied them out with the kiddy pool in the front yard.

I personally like the kong harness with the padded chest piece. Much less likely to cause injury, chest is padded so if they do lunge/pull they are less likely to be injured, fits well, can be made snug so as to not slip off. Pet smart sells them

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

#6 ·
By tie-out I'm assuming you mean putting the dog in the yard on a long cable? The dog I've tied out wears a nice biothane collar with a safety ring. IMO it's more about acclimating the dog to the tie-out than it is having the right collar. You don't want the dog hitting the end of the line regardless of what he's wearing. We showed my dog how far he could go in each direction. He was able to run around and play without ever snapping his neck b/c he knew to stop or change course near the end of his line.

#9 ·
Just remember -- you may come out and the dog has chewed out, slipped out, or been outright stolen. Also if there are other dogs, snakes, or other wild animals you are really putting your dog in danger. Why not use a long line and be there with the dog or get a pen until fencing comes along? I don't believe in too much risk.

#10 ·