Any hope for a 15 month old with one floppy ear? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2011, 06:02 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Any hope for a 15 month old with one floppy ear?

Hi all-I'm new to to Germanshepherds.com and thought I would see what other owners thought of the problem we're facing with our sweet, loveable Blue. Blue is a 15 month old male German Shepherd with one floppy ear. This ear has been up and down since about he was about four months old....so sometimes it stands but mostly it is down. We've tried the tee-pee gluing method, the spongeroller gluing method, the earform method. We've given him gelatin, yogart, we feed him Blue Buffalo Dogfood. He's gone through chew bones, chew toys, we've taken him to interesting places to activate the muscles in his ears and stimulate them to stand up (we live near the beach and he loves looking at seagulls and jumping in the water!) He's gone to doggy day care on a regular basis to have fun with other dogs and we only put him in his crate for short periods of time since I work out of my home. In other words--we've tried just about every recommended thing! So I'm wondering if anybody else out there has had the same problem and if their dog had their ears come up after turning a year old. The weird thing is that lately, his ears come up more often than they used to and stay up for longer periods of time. Are we just dreaming that his ears will ever come up and stay up? Any hope for a 15 month old with one floppy ear?-blue-pic-1.jpg

Any hope for a 15 month old with one floppy ear?-blue-pic-2.jpg
Blue2009 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-01-2011, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)