German Shepherds Forum banner

Not eating on metronidazole -what to do?

15K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Momto2GSDs 
#1 ·
Hello

My dog (14 months) has been prescribed metronidazole to treat Giardia. The course is 5 days and he stopped eating at all after the 1st day. Today is day 4 and I'm really worried about him. He still plays and appears bright and alert but lack of appetite is worrying me a lot. I wonder if I shall stop the treatment or there is anything I can try to feed him? He's on Orejin food.

#2 ·
Metronidazole is hard on the stomach, at least for humans (I am a nurse, not a vet). Perhaps giving a Zantac or Pepcid type med an hour before the Metronidazole dose will help. Check with your vet for correct med and dose. For my human patients, even if they swallow the tablet quickly and wash it down with alot of water, they complain of a horrible aftertaste!

#4 ·
Yes I figured it may not taste nice, he drinks a lot and I give them the med. Unfortunately, I have to force it down :( The dog is now hiding each time he hears me opening the bottle, poor thing :( Vet said I should really continue to finish the course, he didn't welcome the idea of giving the dog Rennie type of tablets (that's kind of similar to Zantac, I googled)

To get him to eat his Orijen, try soaking the kibble in warm water for about 15 minutes with a raw or slightly cooked egg or some plain yogurt or keefer. If he doesn't eat it all, make sure you refrigerate it.

Did your vet give you a ProBiotic to give 2 hours away from the Metro?

The Metro will kill the "good bacteria" in the gut, and possibly cause more problems! Since about 75% of the immune system lies in the gut, it is imperative to keep it healthy.

Here is a high quality product on Amazon in the UK:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/d/cve/Merc...qid=1484795110&sr=8-4&keywords=pet+probiotics you can also get this at i-herb

Moms:)