German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   Diet & Nutrition (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/diet-nutrition/)
-   -   Might have to change dog food - suggestions (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/diet-nutrition/412714-might-have-change-dog-food-suggestions.html)

EJQ 02-18-2014 08:44 AM

Might have to change dog food - suggestions

The feed store recently informed me that their distributor would no longer be supplying them with Royal Canin and that I should consider the switch to a new food.
I have a choice - switch to a new food OR travel the 38 mile round trip to the nearest Petsmart. I'm older than dirt; have had dogs most of my life. I think I've tried all of so called "top brands" and each carried it's own set of problems.

I've been feeding Royal Canin for many years and have encountered absolutely no problems - that goes for baby, puppy and adult.

After reading claims and reviews until my head aches I'm beginning to think that the trip to Petsmart might not be that bad.

I'd like to hear of your experience with some other brands.

Note to you newbies: even us old timers need help once in a while.
:)

Okin 02-18-2014 08:45 AM

I really like Fromm. One thing I noticed about Fromm, at least where I purchase it, is the expiration dates tend to be very far in the future. So if you go that route you could buy a few bags at a time to cut down on the travel time.

jocoyn 02-18-2014 08:53 AM

I went to mail order. Chewy.com

We are actually going to try a switch back to Fromm. The Nature's Logic has been good blood panel wise, but it is hard to keep enough weight on him. It seems 30/20 is a nice working composition. I wanted a higher protein than the Fromm once he got older but he is not a bulk up kind of dog. The company has a great QA program and solid reputation.

LaRen616 02-18-2014 08:53 AM