German Shepherds Forum banner

How to Stack?

43K views 28 replies 22 participants last post by  zetti 
#1 ·
How do you stack a dog for critiquing? I would like to take a photo of my dog to send to my breeder so he can see how she turned out.

#2 ·
Here are some pictures I took of my young female Fia some years ago.
I hope this can help you when not only stacking your dog, but also trying to get a good picture in the process.
First off let me say I am not a professional photographer, these pictures were taken with a Sony Cyber Shot 5 mega pixel camera.
I did the stacking, my son-in law took the pictures and my nephew called the dog to get her attention. Three people working together will help you to get the best picture.
I started by showing my son in law and nephew some pictures of some correctly stacked dogs in my Urma book. Neither one of them has any experience with, or knowledge of what the finished product should look like. (I shanghaied them into service at a family outing)

I tried to explain how important it was to try to be fairly level with the dog (not shooting down) and also to be positioned directly in the middle of the dog.
Some of the common mistakes (as you will see in my photo examples) are taking the pictures on grass that is too high. Naturally this hides the dogs feet, a freshly cut field works best. You should also try to have a large open field that’s nice and green and without to many background distractions.
The time of day and amount of sun light will also affect your pictures. I find that a little bit of an overcast sky is best. (It was very bright and sunny in my photos).

#1. Start by running your dog around a little to tire them out some and get their tongue hanging out for the pictures. Try walking your dog into a natural stance.