How do I critique? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knighted Member

Default How do I critique?

So looking at all the threads about critiquing our GSD's, I look at the comments and for the most part you could be speaking in a foreign language!
I was wondering if there was a simple way of explaining what:
topline
pasterns
croup
head
ear set
angulation, etc... all means?
Is there a website or another thread that explains all this? I mean I am a real novice, but I would like to better understand what to look for.
Are there any pictures depicting what you are looking at and commenting on? I understand what they are, I just don't know what you are critiquing.
Can you help a newbie out?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2012, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)

Look for the Linda Shaw illustrated standard.
Legend (GSD 10/22/13)
Rainbow Bridge Kenya (GSD)

Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2012, 06:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Yep, I agree with Lies. Here's the articles that I'm aware of. Carmen let out a rumor that Linda is working on an article on toplines, but I'm not sure if it's out yet.

Linda's articles:
Front End
Rear End

There's also a DVD series called "The German Shepherd Dog: The German Way" by Canine Training Systems that is pretty informative.