Breeder BS, and the papers too?? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2011, 08:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
Anthony8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,311
Default Breeder BS, and the papers too??

Just curious.....

The breeder that sold us our pup, told us, showed us our pup's dam and sire.

The sire claims to be the "world champion" Remo from Germany.
The papers indicate such as the case, and the breeder explain the whole "import / breeding" process.

I was wondering if there's a chance that "A" pup's papers could be fraudulent?

I feel that any breeder can claim to have a champion pup, show papers to support the claim, and sell you anything they want.

THIS dog, is supposedly our pup's sire:

Remo vom Fichtenschlag
Anthony8858 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2011, 08:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator
 
JakodaCD OA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Old Lyme, CT USA
Posts: 14,237
Default

your right any breeder can falsify papers, I couldn't say at all this is true in this case.

It looks like Remo is owned by Gunbil Kennels in Colorado? atleast thats what I get from the website..I think he's very handsome but don't know any more about him, have heard the name before,

Im sure some with much more showline info will help with your question
__________________
Diane

Danger Danger vom Kleinen Hain aka Masi
"Angel" Jakoda's Bewitchen Sami CD OA OAJ OAC NGC OJC RS-O GS-N JS-O TT HIC CGC
"Angel" Steinwald's Four x Four CGC HIC TT
Harmonyhill's Hy Jynx NA NAJ NAC NJC RS-N JS-N HIC
Jakoda's Jagged Edge
JakodaCD OA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
Anthony8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,311
Default

Remo supposedly lives in Germany. The Dam is owned by the kennel owner(s).

From what I gather, these kennel owners pay a premium to mate their dogs with these "champion SL" dogs.

I did meet the dam, and I did see a trail of paperwork leading to Remo ..in Germany.

I hate to be skeptical, but it just seems too easy to tell a prospective puppy owner anything they want.

Regardless.... we chose our pup for our own reasons, and that's all that matters

Last edited by Anthony8858; 09-20-2011 at 08:35 AM.
Anthony8858 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knighted Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ontario -
Posts: 3,324
Default

is it not the case that Remo's DNA is taken and on file.
you could always contact the owners of this Remo and verify a stud service to the dam of your litter

Carmen
Carmspack Working German Shepherd Dogs
carmspack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
JakodaCD OA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Old Lyme, CT USA
Posts: 14,237
Default

I tend to like Carmen's idea,,you could email Gunbil (the site he is on and said to be owned by), and ask if he was 'bred' to so and so (name of your puppies dam)..

also would ask, you said he showed you the sire and dam,, as IN person or in pics?? IF it was 'in person' I'd ask if he is 'at' that particular kennel,
__________________
Diane

Danger Danger vom Kleinen Hain aka Masi
"Angel" Jakoda's Bewitchen Sami CD OA OAJ OAC NGC OJC RS-O GS-N JS-O TT HIC CGC
"Angel" Steinwald's Four x Four CGC HIC TT
Harmonyhill's Hy Jynx NA NAJ NAC NJC RS-N JS-N HIC
Jakoda's Jagged Edge

Last edited by JakodaCD OA; 09-20-2011 at 08:38 AM. Reason: added
JakodaCD OA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Moderator
 
jocoyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 8,039
Default

Do you have some sort of reason to believe your puppy is from a fraudulant breeding?
__________________
Nancy
www.scsarda.org
Grim (Grimmy Bear) & Beau (Bo-dee man)
Waiting at the Bridge: Cyra, Toby, Rainbow, Linus, Oscar, Arlo & Waggles
jocoyn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
Anthony8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carmspack View Post
is it not the case that Remo's DNA is taken and on file.
you could always contact the owners of this Remo and verify a stud service to the dam of your litter

Carmen
Carmspack Working German Shepherd Dogs
That sounds like a good starting point.
How would someone go about doing this?

The link above is NOT where Remo lives. Remo is a German SL, Seiger word champion, and is in Germany.
Apparently, quite a few websites are showing Remo as their sire to their pups.
Anthony8858 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
Anthony8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jocoyn View Post
Do you have some sort of reason to believe your puppy is from a fraudulant breeding?

ABSOLUTELY 100% NO!

After meeting with and interviewing my breeder, I feel comfortable enough to believe him. Making false claims like that, could land someone in loads of trouble. I feel he don't have to make such claims to sell his pups. He had some beautiful dogs. If that's what people want, that's what they'll get. I don't think he has to claim any pup is a "select" pup to sell it.
People generally by what they like.

I'm just curious about some of the claims and marketing tactics used by some breeders.

This is an innocent topic, and I'm not making any accusations to anyone.
Anthony8858 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
Anthony8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JakodaCD OA View Post
I tend to like Carmen's idea,,you could email Gunbil (the site he is on and said to be owned by), and ask if he was 'bred' to so and so (name of your puppies dam)..

also would ask, you said he showed you the sire and dam,, as IN person or in pics?? IF it was 'in person' I'd ask if he is 'at' that particular kennel,
Sorry, there was a typo. I met the Dam, not the Sire. The Sire is supposedly in Germany.

I become skeptical, when I see OTHER websites claiming to have Remo living in Colorado.
Anthony8858 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 08:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Moderator
 
JakodaCD OA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Old Lyme, CT USA
Posts: 14,237
Default

ahhh ok...and it's certainly NOT unusual that you wouldn't see the sire of a litter.

I'm not sure the website 'claimed' he lived in colorado, tho I didn't look at it close enough,,I was getting the impression they "owned" him..but again that could be way off since I honestly don't know WHO owns him)

I do think it could be rather easy for any breeder to say this puppy came from,,,but a big breeder would be really stupid to try to pull something like that in my opinion..

OK I wanna see pics of the little girlie !!!!)
__________________
Diane

Danger Danger vom Kleinen Hain aka Masi
"Angel" Jakoda's Bewitchen Sami CD OA OAJ OAC NGC OJC RS-O GS-N JS-O TT HIC CGC
"Angel" Steinwald's Four x Four CGC HIC TT
Harmonyhill's Hy Jynx NA NAJ NAC NJC RS-N JS-N HIC
Jakoda's Jagged Edge
JakodaCD OA is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
PetGuide.com
Basset.net DobermanTalk.com GoldenRetrieverForum.com OurBeagleWorld.com
BoxerForums.com DogForums.com GoPitbull.com PoodleForum.com
BulldogBreeds.com FishForums.com HavaneseForum.com SpoiledMaltese.com
CatForum.com GermanShepherds.com Labradoodle-dogs.net YorkieForum.com
Chihuahua-People.com RetrieverBreeds.com