Looking for a breeder in CA? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2014, 03:40 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default Looking for a breeder in CA?

I recently lost my best friend Tank, who was just shy of 11 years old to heart disease. His picture is below. While I am not anywhere near ready to bring a new dog into the home, I want to at least start the process of researching where I will one day find a new companion for our household.

I've owned German Shepherds all my life (29 years). Throughout my childhood, my parents purchased our puppies from a breeder called Shepherds of Leybourne in San Luis Obispo County, CA. I know now that that breeder is no longer in service. 11 years ago when I graduated high school my mother bought me Tank to be my companion throughout my 20's. She bought him from a small breeder in San Luis Obispo, CA but does not remember what the name was. I've looked around online and can find nothing.

Anyway, the point of all this is that I'm looking for a reputable breeder. While looks are not everything, I believe he was a perfect looking dog in every way, especially the fact that he weighed in at around 125 pounds making him quite large for a male shepherd, something my wife and I simply adored. He was also VERY protective of our household and most importantly us, which is also probably the most important trait I seek in a dog. I'm seeking an indoor/outdoor family companion with a high protection drive. If you can't tell I've never done this before, so any help or advice will be greatly appreciated. Location of the breeder is not that important inside California. I currently reside in Southern CA but would be willing to take a road trip for the right dog/experience. Thanks in advance. . .
Attached Thumbnails