breeder red flag? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2012, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default breeder red flag?

This is my first time dealing with a breeder and I need to know if this is normal. This is partially venting some frustration (raging hormonal pregnant woman here!) but Im concerned that maybe we should look at a new breeder.
About two months ago I put a $200 deposit on a puppy for an upcoming litter. The litter was due to be born today. Last night I get a message from them saying the dog wasn't actually pregnant. What?! Is this common? They don't do any sort of confirmation of pregnancy before they take people's money and promise them a dog? I don't understand how they could not know until the day before she was due.
Now they've offered us an import puppy from Germany for an extra $600. I don't think I can justify the extra cost. My kids are going to be heartbroken
I don't know what to do. Im probably over reacting, and maybe this happens all the time. Would you pay the extra money if it was in your budget, or would walk away and ask for your deposit back?
Fephie is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-05-2012, 12:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Elite Member

From one hormonal pregnant lady to another, there is no excuse for this breeder not notifying you that the pregnancy didnt take until the night before the due date. That is shady-at best its inconsiderate-and I'd get my money back (if you can) and go elsewhere. There is no way I'd give that person more money for another puppy.

http://www.dogster.com/dogs/1275860

Failure *is* success, if you learn from it.
PatchonGSD is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2012, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Member

Quote: