Thoughts on Red Rock breeder in Gap, Pa. - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2011, 11:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
ShilohGSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 20
Default Thoughts on Red Rock breeder in Gap, Pa.

I have been researching breeders and think I have settled on Red Rock, located in Gap, Pa. Any thoughts, feedback, etc?

Thank you!
ShilohGSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2011, 11:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
BlackGSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 7,795
Default

What caused you to decide on that kennel?
__________________
Tracy

Siren vom Banach { Sable female GSD 3-20-08}

R.I.P. Wrangler male ACD/Aussie mix. 9-29-99 to8-29-11.
BlackGSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
bocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milton, Georgia
Posts: 1,458
Default

Link?
__________________
Annette Holbrook

www.coppercreekdvg.com- All Breed Schutzhund Club

Home of Umarek von Hugelblick, my good luck charm!
bocron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
ShilohGSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 20
Default

Iniatially,a friend of a friend recommended them, so they were one of many on my list to check out. My phone conversation full of the usual, and many questions were answered to the fullest. Health checks, guarantee,training video all included.

Despite the above, I do not see much info on the web regarding reviews of the breeder, etc. The Red Rock web page has the usual info, but not much to go on. The dogs are beautiful, one even being on a magazine cover.
ShilohGSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
ShilohGSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 20
Default

German Shepherd Breeder
ShilohGSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
bocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milton, Georgia
Posts: 1,458
Default

If this is the one, German Shepherd Breeder I'd pass. No real info, just pics and a statement saying they breed large boned GSDs (ok, why?)
Also, they have on there, a statement that says "Say No to linebreeding". Why? If they have a good reason, then elaborate, teach the ignorant masses...It says on the site that " All of our puppies are from champion German-import working bloodlines "
So are they showlines or working lines? Plus, I think you'd be hard pressed to find imported dogs that aren't linebred. So do they know better than the breeders that they are getting their stock from?
Just very vague, overall, I'd have to see a whole lot more substance in regards to the breeding program.

Oh, and my daughter and I saw that magazine in Petsmart and both said, "Yikes" at the same time. Kind of like most of the calendars you see in the malls, not what most would consider the cream of the crop. The mask is lacking, and the eyes are pretty light.

Also, would love to see a pedigree, somewhere, anywhere. Am I missing them?
__________________
Annette Holbrook

www.coppercreekdvg.com- All Breed Schutzhund Club

Home of Umarek von Hugelblick, my good luck charm!

Last edited by bocron; 10-30-2011 at 11:52 PM.
bocron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 11:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
bocron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Milton, Georgia
Posts: 1,458
Default

German Shepherd Puppy Breeder

They have whites it looks like, and I can't be sure, but the second one on this page that they are listing as a black and tan female looks more like a diluted liver, not sure about that coloring. Maybe it's actually a patterned sable.
__________________
Annette Holbrook

www.coppercreekdvg.com- All Breed Schutzhund Club

Home of Umarek von Hugelblick, my good luck charm!

Last edited by bocron; 10-31-2011 at 12:03 AM.
bocron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Six
Member
 
Six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Redmond, Oregon
Posts: 62
Default

Based solely off the website and information provided I would personally not purchase a puppy from this breeder.
__________________
Six - 8/16/2011
Reggie J. Simpson - 9 y/o GSD
Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 01:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
AbbyK9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North Country, NY
Posts: 12,442
Default

I am extremely confused by their website since it appears that each individual page that's part of the site has its own domain name. Beyond that, I think the website provides extremely little information - it's all just a bunch of puppy pictures. No real substantial information such as registered names of the dogs, pedigrees, OFA information, or titles they have on their breeding stock.

Even with the very little amount of information on the site, there is one think that would really raise a red flag for me, and that is their mentioned that their kennel is "licensed and inspected by the PA Department of Agriculture."

On one hand, that's an excellent thing to know because it allows you to look them up on the website of the PA Department of Agriculture since licensed kennels are subject to inspection. On the other hand, that is worrying because kennels are only required to be licensed if they sell so many dogs per year. In PA, the smallest of the kennel licenses is for facilities that sell 26 or more dogs a year. The kennel in question is a K2, which is a license for selling between 51 and 100 dogs per year. Even if you supposed that you've got 8 pups in each litter, that's at least 6 litters each year. Average number of adults on the premises seems to be between 10 and 15 at any given time. I wonder if they actually work any of them or whether they are simply breeding "stock"? That's a lot of dogs, not counting any puppies on the ground.

The kennel DOES have good inspection reports (which is great), however, and is in compliance with all of PA's Department of Agriculture requirements.

One thing to note is that one of the reports mentions "puppies sold retail" - I believe this means that they sell to pet stores if it's included on a kennel report? Does anyone know for 100% whether that is the case or not?

Researching information on the Red Rock kennel outside of PA-specific pages is difficult because there is another kennel called Red Rock located in Georgia. Their website is Home - Red Rock German Shepherds If I am not mistaken, ALL the dogs listed on the OFFA database with the Red Rock name are from this one, not the kennel in PA.

That all said ... just because information ISN'T on a website doesn't mean it isn't out there. ShilohGSD mentioned that s/he has spoken to the kennel on the phone, asked a lot of questions, and gotten some good answers. Maybe if Shiloh could share some of the questions asked and answers given, folks here could provide more information. Did you get any of the registered names of the dogs? That way, people could link pedigrees for you, at least.
__________________
Malinois Ronja - fastest K-9 in VT
=^^= Finn, Ratchet & Ollie
Blog - Facebook - Store

AbbyK9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 09:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
GSDBESTK9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 28,438
Default

WOW, those pups look way over sized! Based on their web site, I have to agree with everyone else. PASS!! Looks like a back-yard-breeder to me.
GSDBESTK9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:26 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
PetGuide.com
Basset.net DobermanTalk.com GoldenRetrieverForum.com OurBeagleWorld.com
BoxerForums.com DogForums.com GoPitbull.com PoodleForum.com
BulldogBreeds.com FishForums.com HavaneseForum.com SpoiledMaltese.com
CatForum.com GermanShepherds.com Labradoodle-dogs.net YorkieForum.com
Chihuahua-People.com RetrieverBreeds.com