Thoughts on the Kentucky Derby--love/hate - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2014, 09:56 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Thoughts on the Kentucky Derby--love/hate

I watch the Derby every year, as well as the Preakness and Belmont. My first love, even before dogs, was horses, I played with toy horses as a 3 yr old, not dolls.

My two favorite horse breeds are the Arabian and the Thoroughbred… As an artist, I adore Arabians, they are the product of the Original Artist, not man. As a rider, I love the TB. Their strength and power is unmatched when combined with ‘heart’--in GSDs they call it drive. Imagine one of our hard, working line GSDs, except weighing 1100 lbs., 16 or 17 hands high, and you're on its back running all out. That's a TB.

So I love watching the races, remembering my youth when I greenbroke horses for the track and when I took in TBs off the track and re-schooled them for jumping and dressage. There's no man-made machine that can give you an adrenaline rush like sitting astride a living, breathing, thinking mass of muscle, knowing that your key to safety is the strength of the bond, the partnership, you have developed with this animal. That partnership is never more important than when you are galloping toward a jump, your eye measuring the ground in front of you, controlling the length of his stride with hands and seat, counting each stride so he takes off at a perfect distance to soar over the jump and land safely on the other side.

So the Thoroughbred has a spot deep in my heart, which is why my feelings for the racing industry involve more hate than love.