Car forum hasn't helped... - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2014, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Member
 
AngelaA6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 705
Default Car forum hasn't helped...

So the car forum I'm on usually is pretty good at helping out but I don't know if any of them have had a similar issue as to mine.

I currently have a 1988 VW Golf that I've been working on since I was 18 (it's a daily driver but is modded).

The problem is that the original gauge cluster didn't have a tachometer (pretty normal for this car. Only GTI's really had tachs) So I bought the correct gauge cluster with a tachometer (a CE1) and everything turns on. The tachometer will turn on but the needle will just keep going up and over past 7000 RPMs until it pins itself. Mind you this is when the battery is just on or when the car is on. It doesn't register an idle. It seems like the opposite problem everyone else has had with the tach needle never moves from 0.

I have ran a line and wired it into the plug from the coil for the tachometer just like what you would do with an aftermarket tach.

It seems from a2resources.com that the cluster is originally from a GTi but the plugs are from a Jetta (the wire colors match up for the Jetta) and it looks like they put the GTi violet/black wire in the correct spot for the upshift indicator.

Any input would help . I know this is a GSD forum but I haven't found anything so far on VwVortex...
AngelaA6 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-28-2014, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Knighted Member
 
Chip18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Dayton NV
Posts: 2,077
Default

Maybe the year is off one car or the other? Go a year or two earlier on either model and see if the colors are the same? Just a guess.
Chip18 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2014, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Member
 
AngelaA6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 705
Default

I did it's a US spec and they didn't change from 1985-1989. I accidentally a couple years back bought a CE2 cluster from a newer gti (didn't know the difference at the time) and the pins/plugs were completely different.

...and now this feels all a bit silly. Just went out and plugged it in...guess what? The tach worked... I have no idea what my husband was doing to get the tach to pin itself... maybe he was plugging it in upside down?

Now it's on to tackle hopefully the little things. Turn signal indicator switching the bulbs over and what not.

Thank you Chip for the reply the vortex hasn't even responded and I posted yesterday.
AngelaA6 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2014, 05:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Knighted Member
 
Chip18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Dayton NV
Posts: 2,077
Default

Well give them some time, usually on the car forums there are at least a couple folks that are really, really good.

I did that swap on my 92 Tercel... no tach, it will take a tach from a 94 Paseo no airbag no ABS. Hence my nother year suggestion. Dig around with the search function...you can't be the first to encounter this?
Chip18 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2014, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Member
 
AngelaA6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 705
Default

I actually was the only person that I know of haha. I poured over the search all yesterday and even just went to google looking for ANY kind of car that had a similar problem. That forum kinda has gone dead though in the past four years and was kinda a last ditch effort.

If you aren't deep in the scene and know certain people you kinda just feel like an outsider on that forum, even at some car shows. The people that owned MKII's that I knew kinda left the MkII scene and went MKI or newer because the Honda scene was starting to buy MkIIs :P

The closest thing I could find was a hanging tach but mine didn't even move.

Either way I'm happy I at least got the tach to work whatever it was it resolved itself haha and only five cuts on my hands later not too bad.
AngelaA6 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2014, 05:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Member
 
scarfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 562
Default

my 2009 senta slightly vibrates while accelerating between 20 and 30. what's the deal?
scarfish is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2014, 05:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Member
 
AngelaA6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 705
Default

Could be old tires, bad bearings, unbalanced tires, ect... There's a lot of different things that could make your car vibrate.
AngelaA6 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2014, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Curtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 345
Default

Do you know what the tach's input signal should be? I'm no mechanic, but I do work in a power plant. Most analog gauges require either 4-20 miliamps or 0-5 volts in my industry.

If you could figure out what your meter requires, you could then read the voltage or amperage on the input wire to see if it fluctuates accordingly. Then you will know if its the correct wiring at least.

Again, not a mechanic, but if I had to guess, I'd say that if your tach is pegging out when the car is on then your input wire may be wrong and just be hot all the time.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App
Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2014, 06:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Knighted Member
 
Chip18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Dayton NV
Posts: 2,077
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scarfish View Post
my 2009 senta slightly vibrates while accelerating between 20 and 30. what's the deal?
Just gonna add swap tires front to back see if the vibration follows.
Chip18 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2014, 06:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Member
 
AngelaA6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curtis View Post
Do you know what the tach's input signal should be? I'm no mechanic, but I do work in a power plant. Most analog gauges require either 4-20 miliamps or 0-5 volts in my industry.

If you could figure out what your meter requires, you could then read the voltage or amperage on the input wire to see if it fluctuates accordingly. Then you will know if its the correct wiring at least.

Again, not a mechanic, but if I had to guess, I'd say that if your tach is pegging out when the car is on then your input wire may be wrong and just be hot all the time.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App
Husband says since my hazard switch isn't plugged in the circuit shorts itself so it's just acting like I have a light out.

I know my engine inside and out but when it comes to the electrical side of it I get lost haha.
AngelaA6 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the German Shepherd Dog Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
PetGuide.com
Basset.net DobermanTalk.com GoldenRetrieverForum.com OurBeagleWorld.com
BoxerForums.com DogForums.com GoPitbull.com PoodleForum.com
BulldogBreeds.com FishForums.com HavaneseForum.com SpoiledMaltese.com
CatForum.com GermanShepherds.com Labradoodle-dogs.net YorkieForum.com
Chihuahua-People.com RetrieverBreeds.com