Should There Be An Age Requirement To Run Marathons? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 10:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Knighted Member

Default Should There Be An Age Requirement To Run Marathons?

I wanted some opinions on whether or not you thought there should be an age requirement marathon races? I saw an article about two girls ages 10 and 12 who have run quite a few,but the parents are under scrutiny by some. I'm not an expert,but if the kids are truly enjoying it and it's not harming them, I don't see what the issue is.

Last edited by Gharrissc; 11-06-2012 at 10:05 AM.
Gharrissc is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2012, 10:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knighted Member

I don't see an issue assuming like you said, there's no health issues doing it at that young of age.
Old 11-06-2012, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned

Why would you want to restrict living a healthy life style? There are so many fat and morbidly obese people out there that it is becoming the norm.

My mom cooked 6 nights a week and I played soccer on three teams, swim team in the summer, and basketball in the off season. My brother and sister did the same. My mom has run over 20 marathons and ran a 100 mile race in Huntsville two years ago at age 50.

PS> I have ran over 45 5k races since I was in 3rd grade. I did my first triathlon at age 10. (12 mile bike, 3 mile run, 16 laps in the pool) I am in great shape at age 22 and attribute that to the way my mom raised me.

Child obesity is child abuse, in my opinion.
x0emiroxy0x is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2012, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Send a message via MSN to GSDolch