Facebook Scams??? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2012, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
GSDBESTK9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 28,438
Question Facebook Scams???

I see a lot of posts on Facebook, like the one today.. a baby with cancer on his face. Then it asks everyone to post it, that every time somone posts it on their wall Facebook will pay 3 cents towards the baby's surgery. Do you believe all that stuff? I have a hard time believing it.
GSDBESTK9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2012, 10:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Knighted Member
 
GSDGunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Near Atlantic City, NJ
Posts: 2,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSDBESTK9 View Post
I see a lot of posts on Facebook, like the one today.. a baby with cancer on his face. Then it asks everyone to post it, that every time somone posts it on their wall Facebook will pay 3 cents towards the baby's surgery. Do you believe all that stuff? I have a hard time believing it.
Yep, don't believe it. There is NO way that anyone could track how many times it's been posted. It's just someone starting it to see how far it goes.

It's nothing more than a chain letter, only updated for social networks.
__________________
Linda & Gunner 9/14/08
"Do not make the mistake of treating your dogs like humans or they will treat you like dogs." - Martha Scott
http://www.youtube.com/GSDGunner
GSDGunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
GSDBESTK9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 28,438
Default

That's what I think as well.
GSDBESTK9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Knighted Member
 
wildo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,230
Default

Hoax - Facebook Will Pay Three Cents Per Share to Help Baby With Facial Cancer
__________________
Willy

Pimg - DOB: 2/06, CL1-R, CL1-S, CL1-F, CGC
wildo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 10:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Moderator
 
gsdraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mont Co, PA
Posts: 4,626
Default

Nope don't believe it. There was the one about the $100 Dunkin Donuts gift card going around last week. Somehow DD would know if you post a comment and will send you a gift card.

I think there are also viruses disguised as celebrity news gossip. I stay away from links like those on any site. If I'm really curious, I'll google it.
__________________
Jamie

Raven (GSD) - December 8, 2007
Kaiser (GSD) - November 2009
Lead The Way
Life's Abundance
gsdraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 12:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
ozzymama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 6,031
Default

There are some legits, but not usually through "shares", I got a $5 gift card for The Children's Place, which if you shop there know it barely covered a pair of barrettes. But I do shop there from time to time and $5 off a purchase is a good deal. (Before dd walked I bought her shoes there)
Before Christmas there was a lot, I clicked a couple and Norton stopped the program immediately. So now I watch the comments, I know most of my friends pretty well and if they got a $100 gift card from somewhere, they wouldn't be posting "Thank you, <company name> you are great." They would be posting something a bit more adult - and some people don't spell well, and don't use spell check So I know the comments aren't theirs, a week later they'll be complaining about a computer bill to remove the virus LOL.
ozzymama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 12:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
Mrs.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,381
Default

Chip in requests are even more bogus to me. There are too many that are fake, trying to make money off of it.
Mrs.K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 12:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Falls Church, Virginia
Posts: 1,700
Default

Totally fake.

Ones from large companies, like AMEX, Coke, Ford, etc - I'd believe. Some random page? They are just looking for free page "Likes"
__________________
Kessey "Koch" Von der Sauk - 10/26/2008 - 04/23/2011 - Pronounced "Coke"
Smith3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
onyx'girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SW, MI
Posts: 17,605
Default

The dog with his face blown off had many organizations using his portrait for their own purposes. Just yesterday that poor thing was on my wall again. Ticks me off that people will share when they don't even know if something is really legit~though I've been guilty of it too! I am choosy in what I share now
__________________
Jane~
Kept by Onyx, Kacie and Gideon v Wildhaus aka Karlo
onyx'girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Crowned Member
 
Liesje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 12,963
Default

I consider anything I'm not personally familiar with to be unsolicited crap/spam. I don't let any apps access my Facebook page or info. If I see an interesting headline, instead of clicking the link I Google search the phrase.
__________________
UCH Alta-Tollhaus-Krieger Lamb Chop FO OB1 CL1R CL1F RA TT HIT TDI CGC
VPC's Coca-Cola HIT CGC
SG UCH Alta-Tollhaus Bono SchH1 AD T1 FO PA CL1R UNJ UCA HIT TT CGC OFA
SG Pantalaimon vom Geistwasser BH AD HIT CGC
Liesje is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2
PetGuide.com
Basset.net DobermanTalk.com GoldenRetrieverForum.com OurBeagleWorld.com
BoxerForums.com DogForums.com GoPitbull.com PoodleForum.com
BulldogBreeds.com FishForums.com HavaneseForum.com SpoiledMaltese.com
CatForum.com GermanShepherds.com Labradoodle-dogs.net YorkieForum.com
Chihuahua-People.com RetrieverBreeds.com