German Shepherds Forum banner

Favorite Line?

5K views 27 replies 17 participants last post by  Deb 
#1 ·
Hi, I am posting on here to see everybody's opinion and start some conversations. What is your favorite shepherd line(s). There are many different lines you can choose when getting a German Shepherd such as working or show. For working lines there are Czech, west, ddr/east(if there are more SORRY:p). And as for show lines American and German. I am no expert by any means and would love to hear your opinions about the pros and cons of each. I personally prefer the ddr/east German working lines. I love there appearance(blocky head, large bone, deep chests) and there temperament/health. I have also met more ddr shepherd than any other line so my opinion is based on my personal experiences. Would love to hear some feedback and know what you all think :) !!!

And to brighten someone's day here is a picture of my 3 week old puppy who is now 5 weeks that I'm getting SO SOON:

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Very cute puppy.

I have always owned and worked dogs from west German working lines though a few have gone back on some old DDR. Hera has some Belgian. With my Dexter/Elena daughter, Ileana, I will look for a dog that is WGWL with the right Czech lines.

#4 ·
I do like the DDR dogs. My boys have both been DDR of at least 50%. I like the bulk of them. But my current DDR has less prey/play than I like TBH. But we work around it. Just takes longer.