German Shepherd Dog Forums

German Shepherd Dog Forums (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/)
-   Bloodlines & Pedigrees (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/bloodlines-pedigrees/)
-   -   Curious about pedigree (http://www.germanshepherds.com/forum/bloodlines-pedigrees/434401-curious-about-pedigree.html)

Colie CVT 04-06-2014 02:01 AM

Curious about pedigree

I am not really good at looking at a pedigree and knowing what would mean what lol. I realize that my dog is a white shepherd, but if you go back in her pedigree, there are GSD with different titles there. A few friends have attempted to explain but I still am kind of curious.

It is fairly far back there, but I figure it's a way to learn something new. :) Some day I may aim for a working line or the like, but reading the pedigree to tell if it actually is a working line or show that has done some sport is what I'm curious to. My other dog's father is the only one that I can get a pedigree on the database for, but his mother has fairly similar background as my Leia does.

Surefire Hallelujah

Colie CVT 04-08-2014 12:55 PM

Anybody? :/

Sent from Petguide.com Free App

TwoBigEars 04-08-2014 01:07 PM

Most people here aren't going to know a lot about white shepherds. And I'm not really sure what you're asking. Is this Leia?

I'm not seeing working titles until you get back to the 4th and 5th generations, then you get some SchH2/3 GSDs. The rest are mostly conformation, some obedience, and a couple tracking dogs.

The thing about white shepherds is that they aren't really split into show and working lines like GSDs are. With white shepherds, it's basically show lines or BYBs.

Colie CVT 04-08-2014 03:32 PM

It's the dogs in the back with the titles. I didn't expect people to know much about the closer dogs. Just from what I know of the kennel she comes from it tells me.