German Shepherds Forum banner

Bear's Pedigree...

5K views 30 replies 11 participants last post by  Jd414 
#1 ·
#2 ·
from the dogs posted on your pedigree link, I see only american lined dogs. Maybe if you go farther back you might find some german dogs but the ones you posted are not east or west.

#3 ·
Your dog is line bred on a dog (Valiantdale's boss Von Icom) that goes back to some DDR (East German) about 8 generations behind your dog.

So Yes, your dog does have some East German in there. You can tell by expanding the pedigree in pedigreedatabase to see what is behind the first couple of generations that are showing.

#6 ·
thanks for clarifying rob, I am no pedigree expert for sure:)

#10 · (Edited)
So basically he's American lines with some East German way back? What about working or show lines can you tell that as well?

Sent from my iPhone using Petguide.com Free App
Yeah... mostly american show lines with DDR way back. The DDR dog (which has some American lines in him as well) is your dogs great great great grandfather on one side and great great great grandfather on the other, so it's pretty far back. Your dog would be pretty much considered American bred.

The DDR dog is from working lines, but there's no such thing as American working lines.

#11 ·
You have to go pretty far back to get to dogs that came from Germany. Back then the split between working and show line was not as drastic as it is today. The show lines were also pretty good working dogs back then. Your dog is as American line as any other American line dog. If you think about it, if you go far enough back, all German Shepherd dogs originated from dogs from Germany.

#29 ·