Dogs to look for in a Pedigree? (WGWL) - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2011, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Crowned Member

Default Dogs to look for in a Pedigree? (WGWL)

I have decided that when it comes time for me to get a GSD, I want a West German working line. I've noticed that some of the showline breeders call them working lines, so I want to know what dogs to look for in a pedigree so that I know that I'm getting a WGWL and not a WGSL.

I've got a year or two (give or take) before I'll be able to get a GSD, but I want to start early, because picking apart pedigrees is something I'm not too good at.

What are a few key dogs to look for when looking for a WGWL dog?
-Fastest 2012/2013 U-FLI Pomeranian

"In a perfect world, every dog would have a home and every home would have a dog."
Konotashi is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-27-2011, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

Did you see the threads about Mink, Fero, and Troll? All very popular WGWL dogs that are commonly found in pedigrees. There are almost too many to list when you start to consider lines and offspring.

Daryl Ehret put out this chart that shows some of the interelatedness of the different dogs in bloodlines. That way you can sort of see that some of the indivudal dogs are inter-related.

http://www.ehretgsd.com/BloodColor.pdf

Out of curiosity, Why West German working lines specifically? Not that I judge...cause that's what I have and I LOVE them. Personally I think they're probably the easiest line to start with for a beginning SchH enthusiast, but I've seen some nice WG/Czech/DDR crosses too.
G Aiko von Burkndeiros SchH 3, IPO3, FH, TC, KKL2 9-17-02 (Retired)

Tampa Bay Working Dog Club
JKlatsky is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message