Female GSD with separation anxiety or food allergies? - German Shepherd Dog Forums

Increase font size: 0, 10, 25, 50%

GermanShepherds.com is the premier German Shepherd Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2013, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Female GSD with separation anxiety or food allergies?

Hi everyone,

I have a female shepherd who's turning 1 yrs old tomorrow. I got her when she was about 2 months old, I was with her all day and everyday because I was a stay at home dad. Now we move to another state and now my wife stays home and im a chef so I work long hours at least 10 hrs a day. For the past few months she's been what I thought shading a lot but we recently notice that she's been biting her hair out and scratching I thought it was from the food but she had been eating high quality kibble. We switch from royal canine, blue buffalo, nature variety, etc... Etc. my wife notice that, when I leave from work she starts wining and biting her hair out. I understand I may have to take her to the vet but I would like to know if anyone has ever had this issue.

Sent from Petguide.com Free App
Sibbi120412 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-09-2013, 05:17 PM   #2 (permalink)

Where is she ichy...1 particular spot or all over? Is it to the point she's loosing a significant amount of fur and has bald spots? Does she only scratch when you're not home, or all the time? Does she get any out-of-crate time while you're at work? As you can see, there really is no simple answer. It could be a number of things - allergies, scabies, fleas, a hot spot, etc., most of which are relatively easy to treat, or it could be behavioral. The first place to start would be with your vet, that way you can at least rule out any medical issues first. Good luck and keep us posted : )
-Loki: 3 y/o Congo African Grey (the trouble-maker)